Translation Status

17 04 2012

I’m finish checking through the MSN2 scripts once again so I’m leaving it to the rest.  I may scan through it fast one last time later if needed.

Since I’m done with MSN2, I’m starting to translate MSN3. It has… 343 scripts!! What a monster it is. I’ll inform the author that I’m translating MSN3 when I’ve released MSN2.

Btw, the most popular post I have here is my Ukagaka post surprisingly(Other than Prince Maker stuff). Anyone still playing it? That post is outdated however. There is a better one with more functions called Edited Enhanced 2. I also found a lot of nice Ukagaka to play with over the years. However, I don’t think I can provide download because they have really strict sharing policy and there is one especially:”Can only be spread inside China”(I don’t live in China though, but I think it really means not to be shared in places that are not Chinese). It means I can’t even tell anyone that doesn’t speak Chinese. That Ukagaka is really great one, comparable to the Kikka and Towa so I really want to share…(In the end, I’ll share screenshot of it but it’s up to you guys to find it for download).

But I know why they acted like that. The Ukagaka community is really having a tough time, they are providing it free but people keep doing hateful things like selling it in tabobao(something like eBay), share through emails(I rarely find this in the English community but it is a norm in the Chinese community to share stuff by bulk sending to emails) and not linking to the author’s website. Unfortunately, using Ukagaka without understanding it always lead to a lot of problems and when emailing to ppl, it is just the file without any explanations and when there are problems, ppl rush back to the author’s site to complain, in the end, it is the person who packaged it in the wrong way so it cannot be used. There is one author that got really angry and ceased providing download of her Ukagaka and announced that no one can share it too, She also finish the pairing Ukagaka but only share it with ppl she really trust. This Ukagaka is my favourite one(it’s in the picture too) so it is really sad.

Ukagaka isn’t just a desktop eye candy toy like Shimeji(it crawls around your desktop XD). You can make it into a program launcher, dictionary, learn Japanese, music player etc… some has great RPG system where you go to fight monsters and you have to feed it from time to time, achievements records, some will evolve from seed and grow into something if you keep it on the desktop for long time, some have intricate storyline. I’m surprised that I kept it on my desktop almost everyday and watch it doing it stuff and talk interesting things. Some can be updated too so there are constantly new stuff. Mostly, I kept it small though so that it won’t get in the way when I do things. The new Ukagaka program has a lot of new functions too in the Options part like selecting transparency of balloons, characters separately. It makes things easier rather than dependent on coding.

Hmm? In the end I talk about Ukagaka so much? More than what my topic is supposed to be. If I really share about Ukagaka(I won’t provide download but will tell how to get to the author’s site and how to download), I really hope you guys don’t upload and share it publicly(that can be found using google). Making the authors angry means no good stuff to play with anymore. Basically, all of them need to get permission from the author to re-upload and share, so if you don’t know Chinese it’s hard to ask for permission. Some don’t really need permission though like Kikka & Towa since it is a combination of a lot of stuff and a lot of ppl editing, hard to say why.

Ok, this is the screenshot of some of the Ukagaka in the Chinese community that I like(actually there are some more but my screen not enough space to fit all.

Some good Ukagaka

Some good Ukagaka

Actions

Information

18 responses

18 04 2012
Mikan

I’m so happy~Thank you! ❤
What is Ukagaka? Is that someting like that mp3-player that looks like anime characters?

18 04 2012
princemakerproject

Yeah, flele is a type of Ukagaka character personality(coding). All Ukagaka has their own personality like the ones in my pic has different personality so it functions differently(some has same personality but different drawing). It’s just that flele is one of the personality and somehow went to the English community and everyone made their flele based on that personality. I think flele is better suited for ppl who don’t know coding as it doesn’t talk and only function as a music player. Many people don’t know coding so they don’t know how to make their own character personality and just used the existing one but draw new characters for it. Some authors don’t like their personality stolen too(have exactly same personality/story/way of talking but different drawing).

22 04 2012
Nyx

Ukagaka seems to be very nice! I’ve always wanted to have something like this, but unfortunately I don’t know anything at all of Chinese and Japanese (just a little bit), so I guess it’ll be hard for me to have it on my desktop.

22 04 2012
princemakerproject

Ya, Ukagaka are quite neat if it is done well. Ukagaka are mostly quite story driven(talk a lot too). Like the one I’m using now is a Hell Captain Maiden. She’ll greet you after screensaver or when you un-minimize her. You somehow arrive in hell(actually I didn’t paid much attention to the starting story n forgot ^^;) and wanted to find the captain to take you over(ferryman of the dead). You ask a girl which you find out is the captain later. You have to earn good and evil points(currency) to do anything. Somehow anything you do will deduct points =.= Even summoning other Ukagaka will deduct points. You’ll do work around the ship like scrubbing decks and throw rubbish to earn points and exp. With the points you can buy icon & title.

16 07 2012
Brittany

I just found out about the Ukagaka today, and I’m desperate to download one! I’ve looked online almost all day, but I haven’t found one like the Hell Captain Maiden you’re talking about. Would you please tell me where you got yours?

16 07 2012
Brittany

I’m very sorry for my previous question. I read your full post earlier today, and forgot about the Ukagawa you are referring to are only available to download on chinese website. If I am able to find one, could you point me to a website with directions on how to change the menu’s and the character’s comments?

13 01 2014
princemakerproject

Hmm, it seems I never see this reply before? It’s so long ago, not sure if you’ll see this…
I can teach you/translate menu if you are able to find it.

29 04 2012
ladybug55

Congragulations on finishing the translating part! When will it be available?

2 05 2012
princemakerproject

I’m not sure. Things are slowing down again. Haven’t heard from the compiler for a few days. I’ll try to get in touch with her.

29 04 2012
Help

What do you mean you are done with MSN2?
I cant find a translation patch on this site.
AM I supposed to use the auto online translator thing? It looks very complicated and I doubt a machine translation will be any good at all.

2 05 2012
princemakerproject

I mean I’m done looking through the translations(finalized) and it’s up to the compiler to finish up the compilation. The machine translator is for ppl who are interested in using it for not translated games.

15 05 2012
Anonymous

Thank you for explaining, looking forward to it :3

11 05 2012
Bluemoon

Thank you for taking the time to translate princemaker! ^_^ I’m really excited to see all the progress you’ve made.

13 05 2012
princemakerproject

Normally I’m very happy but I’m a little sad right now that you guys are excited about it but I can’t do anything to release it. Translation are pretty much final. Searching for a compiler so look around for an announcement post in a few days.

12 05 2012
Mikan

Hello! Can you tell me how much longer will the translation take? I’m really eager to play it, but I’m not online very often, so I really need to know.. ^^”

13 05 2012
princemakerproject

Actually, I wanted to post this in 2 days after but since you asked first I’m going to be frank about it. It is probably going hiatus again until I heard from my compiler or found a new one. I haven’t heard from my compiler for about 3 weeks. After 2 days, it’s going to be a week since I emailed her which is no reply yet. I’m so sad since we did a big overhaul with the translation. She also did a lot of nice changes like names can be 6 characters, nice fonts, bigger boxes for text etc. Hmm, do you know where I can find a compiler instead of waiting for one? I’m currently asking around in a forum I frequent (hate to do that but no choice) so can you wait a few days to see if I can get any favorable answers. I’ll release a post if I get one or I can’t get one in the end. Thanks for asking really, need someone to help with the pushing sometimes.

18 09 2013
Floo

Hi, I’ve tried to search for some good Ukagaka (especially the ones that you have) but I can’t find them anywhere. If it’s not bothering you too much, can you tell me where you get them, please?
Thank you.

13 01 2014
princemakerproject

To be honest, I don’t remember where I get them now since it is very long time ago. Most of them are from the Chinese Ukagaka community.

Leave a Reply

